Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here are a couple pictures of largest Oklahoma pigs that I have killed on our leases. These are free ranging hogs. It always amazes me when I here tales of people killing 400 and 500 Lb wild hogs, when very few people really weigh them. I am an engineer by trade so I do everything by the numbers. The brown pig weighed a whopping 225 lbs on the hoof; it was my biggest pig until this year. I killed the black pig this past rifle season and he weighed 190 lbs field dressed. I have weighed several pigs on the hoof and then after field dressing. Based on the data I have collected I use 1.29 times the field dress weight to calculate the live weight. Using that formula the black weighed 245lbs on the hoof.
[/]

·
Administrator
14,067 Posts
Those are really nice hogs! I'll be you got some good pork chops from those. :eek: :eek:

I'm not an engineer, but have always been amazed when people go out and catch crappie, and tell me they are 3/4 to one pound. I take those same fish and put them on my calibrated scales where they are 3 to 4 ounces.(I'm an instrumentation, and controls tech) Guess I'm the same way.

I like your camo'd rifle. Tell us a little more about it ;D

·
Registered
5,305 Posts
Nice pigs Olhunter! Yep, bucks have ground shrinkage that tends to revers it's self at the cafe and the distance between the hands show how big the fish was does the same!!! That's the fun of huntin' & fishin' :D

·
Super Moderator
11,027 Posts
Nice hogs. Man I remember chaseing them thing out in CA. Man them was fun times.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·