Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody planted? I want to plant, but the land I am on is very very sandy. I was told turnips, peas, and wheat or oats would do good. Any suggestions on the BEST sandy soil seed for fall/winter plots?

·
Administrator
14,034 Posts
I have been putting in food plots for 30 years now.
I've tried every whiz bang seed that has been put on the market.

I've put the "greatest seed on the face of the earth" down, and the deer have walked past it to get to the wheat.

Buck forage oats, or wheat is the way to go. Its the cheapest, and the most effective..

·
Registered
840 Posts
Clover/turnips worked pretty well for me a couple of years ago. When I retrieved my buck, he still had a long strand of clover hanging out of his mouth.

Can a mixed plot be planted with those and wheat? If I do something next week, will the plot have enough time to grow before Oct?

·
Administrator
14,034 Posts
I disked up 5 acres for a food plot yesterday, but won't plant it untill the first week of september.
It doesn't hurt anything at all to put in a mix of seeds. A bag of soy beans mixed with the wheat is what I normally plant. The soy beans are a legume and put nitrogen back into the soil that the wheat can use.
If you can get the wheat in the ground in the first of sept, it will be 4" high by the time bow season comes around. The deer will feed on it about the time it comes out of the ground.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I grew a turnip wheat mix last year, think I am gonna go with that this year.... easy, and is great for no till backwoods honey hole plots

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, I just bought a 50# bag of seed wheat for $14 down here... should do me good this year. I already have 1# turnip seed too I am gonna plant. Hopefully that mix will be the key

·
Administrator
14,034 Posts
There are 167200 seeds in that pound of turnips.

·
Registered