Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I'm about 1 for 6 or so on my last hog outings, and maybe 4 for about 15 over the last two months. It is getting to the point where the enjoyment of looking for them is fading quickly.

I'm guessing that 1) Whatever is left has probably moved on in most places, and 2) There must be a better food source somewhere that keeps them out of the pastures.

I have two properties that had a ton of damage over the winter, but I wasn't able to get on them to hunt much. Even those hogs are nowhere to be found right now.

I'm relatively new at this, but being my third year looking for hogs I really think they go back to foraging on stuff above the earth from about April to August. I killed a bunch last July-August, and most of them were into the bahia seed stems and not rooting.

Time will tell.

·
Registered
2,362 Posts
I drive by a small hay meadow every day and this year every day I see more and more rooting I bet those clods will pay hell on his mower this year

·
Super Moderator
10,833 Posts
Maybe you killed them all....one can hope that’s the case.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe you killed them all....one can hope that’s the case.
In several places I've cut their numbers to where they probably won't return. I know that last year I completely killed off one sounder, all but one of another, and more than half of 4-5 more. It seems that if you can kill at least 50 percent, they have a good chance of moving off to another location.

My biggest full time problem sounders were removed last year. I did take two nights of damage this tear in that location, but it was a single boar that I killed the second time he returned.

·
Registered
1,074 Posts