Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, thanks for having me on here. I'm new to turkey hunting AND somewhat new to Oklahoma. I was planning on going with a guide the first time to get the ropes but both ranches I've tried are booked. SO, any suggestions? Names or places where I can go with a guide? Any good public land within a days drive?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
13,768 Posts
Welcome to Oklahoma Hunter!
All 52 counties have huntable populations of wild turkey. Some more than others and techniques for each can be different.
We have easterns east of I35, and Rio's west of I35, and a few merriam's in the far west panhandle.
Rio's answer the best to calls, and are more vocal than Rio's.
Whats your location, and what part of the state are you looking to hunt?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A couple ranches I was looking at were basically straight south of OKC. Near Comanche. I'm up in Northeastern Oklahoma but obviously willing to drive. Just trying to get a feel for it. Probably best if I could get with a guide the first time out just to get the ropes and then go from there. Thanks all!

·
Administrator
13,768 Posts
the backwoods show is in Oklahoma City March 3rd-5th.
Backwoods Hunting and Fishing Expo
Most of the vendors there are guides and have operations around the state. If you don't see something you like from the guides, ask the Taxidermist that have displays at the show. They will know some guide services that may not be at the show

·
Registered
2,784 Posts
Find a guide in the NW part if the state if you can find one with an opening. Little public land, tons of birds and a guide will have no trouble putting a bird in your lap.

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
I live in Lawton which is near Comanche. i hunt public land and it has been tough the the last to seasons.

·
Registered
5 Posts