Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I've been reading through the various posts related to Okmulgee GMA. I'm relatively new to OK and never hunted whitetail. Moved from NM a few years ago and wanted to get back into hunting something so I put in for several of the controlled hunts. As luck would have it my son drew the youth hunt on the Okmulgee GMA. I've checked out Google Earth and I drove around the area a little bit the other day and had some questions for people in the know. Seems like a plan for this area would be to find an area to pull off the road and walk in to one of the food plot areas and just sit on it? I've never been a stand hunter. All my experience was mule deer and elk in NW NM and SW CO. If I remember correctly they gave out about 40 tags for that weekend. Seems like a lot for this small of an area, with youth hunters, with rifles, so what's been your experience in running into other hunters?Or did you even notice any others?

I also noticed in the regs that Youth Deer Gun and Deer Archery are "Same as Statewide Seasons." So am I correct in believing that I could get an OTC archery tag and hunt the GMA starting Oct.1? Or my son could get an OTC deer tag for the October youth weekend and hunt the GMA? Or is that only for the Public Hunting Area (PHA)?

I apologize for all the questions, just trying to get a feel for everything. I appreciate any info anyone could give. Also feel free to message me directly.

·
Registered
213 Posts