Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As some of you may know, I recently "won" an auction on Gunbroker for a new Savage 110 Timberline in 6.5 Creedmoor. I must admit that I am not really much of a Savage fan. I have owned one of their centerfire rifles in the past, and still own two of their rimfire rifles. All have shot well, but the centerfire actions leave more than a little room for improvement. Nevertheless;

My goal of this is to just show how I get a rifle ready to shoot, and especially hunt. I am not a professional hunter, or long range benchrest shooter. I do have a bit of experience shooting Service Rifle competitions though, and do practice with my rifles out at distance from time to time. I purchased this rifle with the intent on giving it to my Father-in-Law (FIL) as a hunting rig. I highly doubt he will ever attempt a shot past 200 yards anywhere on the ranch or house property, but there is always an opportunity to see deer in excess of 500 yards. For general limitations/expectations though, I want to hand him a turnkey setup capable of 1 MOA off of a rest at 100 yards (routinely, not a cherry-picked group), and capable of keeping a group within a six inch target at 400 yards.

I also want to note that I am trying to do this without spending a lot of money. There are a ton of excellent tools/gadgets out there that make the shooting process easier...but since money is tight for many of us, let's try to save along the way!

I really look forward to input on how other shooters get their rifles setup. There is always more than one right way to do things...and more than one way to do them wrong too. If any of you have input on how I can tweak things to possibly make my setup better, please share them with me.

First, I'll cover how I mount and prepare my optics: