Oklahoma Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone on here familiar with the USSG line of fire arms? They make a single shot rifle in several popular calibers. I'd like to purchase a singe shot and was wondering if any of you guys knew anything about this manufacturer or had any dealings with them, etc. Thanks

·
Administrator
14,037 Posts
What caliber are you looking at?
I'm by no means an expert, but if I remember USSG is an importer, and not a manufacturer? They were importing some of the Baikel weapons? My mind is fuzzy on this, but I remember that they had mixed reviews. Some swore by them and some said they were junk. I'm not sure how many lines they carried as some were shotguns, and others were rifles.

·
Registered
5,278 Posts
Don't know the price difference but you might look at a Thompson Center Encore. You can get all sorts of calibres,black powder and shot gun barrels to use on the same reciever.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info. I was looking at either the .270 or 308. I currently use a .243 and have for many, many years, but the allure of a single shot intrigues me and I feel I may want to go that route. I read somewhere that Baikel is making Remington's single shot rifles and the reviews are not flattering at all. Very shoddy craftsmanship and people are wondering why Remington would even put their stamp of approval on these guns. I guess I will give the T/C a look, but from what I have read these guns are quite heavy. Again, many thanks for your input

·
Premium Member
3,807 Posts
H&R along with CVA also make multiple calibers in a single shot.

·
Registered
92 Posts